nunojob:~ dscape/08$ echo The Black Sheep

Here’s something that I thought would give me some headaches. Well guess what I was wrong once again. I’m quite used to this by now so it’s actually fun. I’m sorry to be bothering you with all this Mac OS trash but I like to keep my stuff documented and this is a excellent way of doing so while helping other people.

If you are reading this I assume you want to change your Leopard home directory to somewhere else. So you can start by clicking on the apple on the top left screen and then select System Preferences. Browse to Account and ctrl + click your account to select Advanced Options. There you can change your home directory to wherever you please. Restart and you are ready to go.

Changing your home directory – or any of that other advanced options values – can have some nasty effects on your Leopard. I’m assuming you are an advanced user and familiarized with all the stuff the advanced options window.

If this is not the case and you are considering doing this anyway I’ll leave you with a piece of advice my grandma could have given to me – she actually never did so I have ruined my fair share of computers. And phones. And Playstations. I’ll better stop this list here for my own sake.

Anyway that advice is (should have been): if you don’t know what it is, don’t change it. If you want to change it: learn what it is, how it works, and then you can do what you please. And ruin the computer anyway. But only because you wanted to.

Comments on: "Mac OS X Leopard Tips: Change your home directory to a different partition" (9)

  1. Bom post, desconhecia essa funcionalidade.
    keep going ;)

  2. very interesting.
    i’m adding in RSS Reader

  3. Your advice rocks !

  4. can I translate the this to my blog ??

    and how to change the Home name

    eg; imac to iMac.. can it be done?

    thanks

  5. Hope that works for me, I just scrude up my mac os leopard by following a different tutorial.

  6. Alexwebmaster said:

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

  7. […] como se fazia isto li dois posts que me ajudaram. Um de um colega meu de curso, o Nuno Job (aqui), e um outro […]

  8. Hi! I was surfing and found your blog post… nice! I love your blog. :) Cheers! Sandra. R.

  9. The right sort of orbit puts the one where the other is at a later time for a convergence of their referential paths. ,

Leave a Reply

