nunojob:~ dscape/08$ echo The Black Sheep

I just got my first brand new MacBook and, as one would expect, some problems emerged by leaving my usual OS combo (Ubuntu/Windows) for Mac OS X Leopard. I’m still undecided whether to install Ubuntu or use VMWare Fusion to use Linux. As for Microsoft Windows as long as I don’t need to use .NET I don’t think I’ll install it. Not even with the free licenses Microsoft provides University of Minho students.

First I had to decide what to install:

The question you are probably asking is why Firefox instead of Safari!? Because the damn unsafe add-on for del.icio.us is just that: del.icio.us! I just can’t live without it. Maybe if the guys over there worked the basics of security we could say that it’s both excellent and safe! And don’t say there’s a add-on for Safari as well. I’ll only accept it if the add-on is as good as the one provided by Yahoo.

Now we go for the fun part. The problems and solving them. Your attention please, this is only fun for me when I do it on my computer so it won’t be pleasure if you ask me to fix your computer! Joana this one is for you, I know how your mind thinks.. Almost as badly as mine. Oh well, we are related aren’t we? :\ Please release those crazy Christmas photos to the world! :X

I’ll start with a small OS free tip and then go for the Q/A part. If you are Portuguese like myself you just hate all the results that google gives you from .br domains. Most of the results are overrated and most of the times you just wish that they weren’t there. If this is the case just do your normal search in google but write -br in the end. Just test this, go to google and type governo brasileiro -br. It works ;)

  1. How do I get my mouse to behave like a normal one by removing this dreadful acceleration?

    Easy. Check Rúben’s blog @ http://blog.0x82.com/2007/12/mac-os-and-usb-mouse.html

  2. What’s wrong with the encoding on TextEdit? The automatic descovery does not work and even when I specifically tell him to use this encoding it won’t work. The Where is ISO 8859-15 dilemma.

    Still don’t know. Anyone? If you want to test the bug just do this (from here):

    $ echo é > ~/a.txt
    $ cat ~/a.txt
    é
    Open a.txt with TextEdit and get:
    È

    Cracked it! At least I have a partial fix for Migrating documents from Ubuntu to Mac OS X Leopard:

    cmd + space terminal enter

    {go to the directory where the file is}

    bash$ iconv -f ISO-8859-15 -t UTF-8 {filename} > UTF8-{filename}

    For me it was:

    bash$ iconv -f ISO-8859-15 -t UTF-8 Pam.tex > UTF8-Pam.tex

    And yes PAM is as in Pluggable Authentication Modules. So I have a latex work on that :P

    
    
  3. Where is type-a-name application? It’s not on the dock.

    Just press cmd + space and type what you are looking for. This is called spotlight. Either this or open Finder and go to applications.

  4. Why doesn’t it show my dashboard when I go to the left/whatever corner?

    Have you even configured your mac? Common.. Click the apple on the top left corner and go to System Preferences. Exposé and Spaces. And now that you are there take a look around and configure all the other things that you neglected.

  5. This computer is always underlining the words in red. (when the spelling is right :P If not you are a dumbass for asking this!)

    Just press cmd + mouse and change the language. Thanks Nuno Veloso from Apple Tech Team for this tip.

  6. How can I see the right mouse button menu?

    crtl + mouseclick

  7. PageUp/PageDown!?

    fn+ up
    fn + down

If after this you still feel like reading about Mac OS for rookies – like myself – you can check this section in Arun Gupta’s Blog or check this extensive list of Keyboard Shortcuts. Have fun!

Now let’s get back to work, something almost impossible when your doing a report on LaTeX and the encodings are never right.

One final touch: ctrl + alt + cmd + 8. Merry Christmas! :)

Comments on: "From Ubuntu/Windows to Mac OS-X Leopard" (11)

  1. You can remove the desktop icon with you harddrive by simply going to finder and change the preferences.

  2. Come on man!
    Let Firefox stay where it has to be: for Linux users! (I will not even talk about wind0w$ users…)

    Do you really prefer to stay hanged on a browser just because of a damn plug in? aaargh! :p

    Switch to Safari and fly! Take a look at the benchmarks and give me some reason..!

    Or… Keep your old bad habbits. It’s up to you! :)

  3. try disco Instead of toast

  4. I agree with the previous comment. QuickSilver is a must-have software for Macs. Happy Holidays.

  5. Safari VS Firefox:

    For me, Firefox. Why?
    Safari is faster, but is less customizable. Firefox has some extensions that I can’t live without:
    Adblock Plus, del.icio.us, Google Preview, ….

    Quicksilver is an excellent application that I use, but it often crashes in leopard.

    Does this happen to you too?

    sorry my english :p

  6. marcobarreto said:

    You’re moving from Linux do MacOS X?? Quit drinking, it’s clouding your brain! And yes, i DO know what i’m talking about! I used to be Apple Sales Manager. Check it. MacOS is nice if you’re gonna use it to be an “artist…”, for real work you need Linux!

  7. Nop I’m using both. I have 2 ubuntus, 1 vista, 1 xp and 1 leopard.

    This is a post to help people migrate to a new environment, mac os x :)

    That’s all but thanks for the tip

  8. quote
    You’re moving from Linux do MacOS X?? Quit drinking, it’s clouding your brain! And yes, i DO know what i’m talking about! I used to be Apple Sales Manager. Check it. MacOS is nice if you’re gonna use it to be an “artist…”, for real work you need Linux!

    How stupid i.s that? not surprised to hear it from sales people. I ve been working for Apple for tech and sales, and this critic is just stupid. First Mac Os is Unix based, so it offer almost anything you can use with linux, just learn how to compile your stuff. Second, virtualization in Mac OS and the fact it is so easy to use is a real advantage. I can totally understand people moving from linux to Mac Os, keeping a linux distro in Vmware or so. Mac Os is probably the most advanced os regarding interface and enables beginner AND advanced users to do their stuff.

    If you disagree that is your problem, but answering ‘keep drinking’ to people thinking about moving from Linux to Mac OS without knowing what people do with their machine is just stupid

  9. Bob : quit drinking it’s afecting your head.

    real geeks don’t give a shit about sales.

    Mac OS is productive and fine.
    Ubuntu is the perfect complement.
    Windows is trash.

    I would use only linux if i could be as productive there as i am here. But hey, wheres photoshop? Where did textmate go? etc. Not to talk about the native os being more user friendly

  10. Linux also doesn’t run Bookpedia, and that would be a tragic loss.

Leave a Reply

